3 Steps To Practice Acceptance & Have a Peaceful Life

by Axel Gjertsen

“Every day may not be good, but there’s something good in every day.” ~Unknown

I was in a motorbike accident in 1987. Believe it or not, it was on September the 11th. The physician in the emergency room delivered the bad news and told me the right knee cap had cracked. That day changed my life forever.

How could I accept that I wouldn’t ever be able to run again?

The physical injury took years to heal, and a lot of time passed before I slowly started to accept my new situation. In the meantime, I got depressed.

Life Can Be Beautiful

That might seem like an ironic heading coming after the preceding line, but hear me out. Life is beautiful every time you’re able to accept something that has gone wrong. When you can feel good on the whole even though things aren’t going your way you know emotional freedom. What more could you ask for?

The opposite would be the guy who shouts in despair, “Not again, for God’s sake!” when his sports car breaks down in the middle of nowhere or needs thousands of dollars of work on that car. Neither is a fun situation to be in. But what about people that don’t even have food to eat?

It’s all about perspective, isn’t it? Are you looking at life through Ray Bans or from a refugee camp? We must learn to see and appreciate what we have and shift our attention from what we’ve lost.

So, let me point out three steps that can make your life truly beautiful. While it’s true that people who have experienced trauma are often more likely to see things differently, you don’t need to go through some life-shattering experience to become more accepting and peaceful. You can start out from where you’re at now.

1. Find Solutions Instead of Complaining

It is completely meaningless to complain about things. Negative people drain everyone around them—and complaining won’t change your situation for the better either. You may think it makes you feel better, but it actually just keeps you down—and it’s fruitless.

Don’t waste your energy complaining. Use it more wisely.

You could complain for a lifetime about the leaking roof on your house but as long as you don’t do anything about it, you’re stuck in the situation.

Instead, ask yourself, “What can I do to solve the problem?” And if you can’t solve it, where can you focus your energy more productively? What things can you control?

2. Practice Letting Go

How can you accept a devastating loss or change, for example that you won’t ever be able to run again?

From my way of looking at it, you have two choices.

One is to hold on to the way things were. Personally, I loved jogging which made it harder to accept the physical impairment. But if you can’t accept life the way it is, you have a big problem–because we cannot change what already has happened. Resisting the flow of life will only make you unhappy.

The other choice is to bite the bullet and accept life the way it is. That takes courage but the process will empower you enormously. The ability to let go of things in everyday life makes for happiness and ease. You can even laugh when you miss a bus that’s departed five minutes early.

Start out by accepting small things, such as stepping on a chewing gum or losing some change. You’ll be surprised–bit by bit you’ll be able to let go of most mishaps that come your way.

3. Let Beauty In

When you’re focused on everything that’s lacking, it’s hard to fully notice, appreciate and enjoy what’s there.

Look around you, there’s beauty all around—what an amazing planet! Beaches and mountains, colorful fish in the ocean, birds flying across the sky, music and culture, blueberry ice cream, kissing in the sunset and lifelong friendships. There is so much to live for; this could potentially be paradise.

Learn to see and appreciate what you have as opposed to giving too much attention to what you’ve lost.

Open up to what is truly beautiful and important in life. For example, look at a flower and enjoy its fragile beauty; take your mom on a surprise picnic or give yourself a day to relax.

Most of us keep the blinds shut, closing off to life. Some of us even repeat the mantra, “Been there, done that.” The truth is every  experience is new, and it’s up to you how complete or lacking it seems.

Take on the curiosity of a child. Open up and explore life as if it were your first day here, regardless of what you’ve had or lost. You can choose to focus on either. What’s your choice?


Axel Gjertsen lives in Thailand and is a former Buddhist monk. He runs axel g which is a personal development site with a focus on meditation.

67 thoughts on “3 Steps To Practice Acceptance & Have a Peaceful Life

  1. I carry on listening to the reports talk about receiving free online grant applications so I have been looking around for the best site to get one. Could you advise me please, where could i find some?

  2. It’s perfect time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy. I’ve read this post and if I could I desire to suggest you some interesting things or suggestions. Maybe you can write next articles referring to this article. I desire to read even more things about it!

  3. We are a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community. Your site offered us with valuable information to work on. You’ve done a formidable job and our entire community will be grateful to you.

  4. I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good. I don’t know who you are but certainly you are going to a famous blogger if you aren’t already 😉 Cheers!

  5. Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it. Look advanced to far added agreeable from you! By the way, how can we communicate?

  6. I wanted to put you that bit of word just to say thanks a lot the moment again for your personal beautiful tricks you have featured in this article. It’s quite surprisingly open-handed of people like you to allow freely what a few people could have offered as an e-book to help with making some dough for their own end, notably considering that you might well have tried it if you decided. These guidelines likewise acted to become easy way to understand that someone else have the same dreams much like mine to realize very much more with respect to this condition. I’m certain there are some more pleasant occasions up front for individuals that find out your website.

  7. I am not sure where you are getting your information, but good topic. I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding more. Thanks for wonderful info I was looking for this info for my mission.

  8. hello there and thank you for your information – I have certainly picked up anything new from right here. I did however expertise a few technical issues using this web site, as I experienced to reload the website many times previous to I could get it to load properly. I had been wondering if your web host is OK? Not that I am complaining, but slow loading instances times will very frequently affect your placement in google and can damage your high-quality score if advertising and marketing with Adwords. Anyway I am adding this RSS to my e-mail and could look out for a lot more of your respective intriguing content. Ensure that you update this again soon..

  9. I’m really impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Either way keep up the excellent quality writing, it’s rare to see a great blog like this one these days..

  10. A lot of thanks for your own work on this site. My daughter really loves making time for investigations and it’s really simple to grasp why. We all notice all about the lively tactic you offer advantageous tricks on the web blog and as well improve participation from some other people on this matter so our own daughter is studying so much. Enjoy the rest of the new year. You are doing a pretty cool job.

  11. I wish to express my affection for your generosity giving support to persons that really want assistance with this important content. Your personal commitment to getting the message throughout came to be extremely productive and have encouraged folks like me to attain their targets. Your warm and helpful advice denotes much a person like me and substantially more to my fellow workers. With thanks; from all of us.

  12. I wanted to put you the very small observation just to give thanks as before for those beautiful knowledge you’ve provided above. It’s quite strangely generous of you in giving openly just what a number of us could have offered for an electronic book to help make some money for themselves, specifically considering that you might well have tried it in the event you wanted. These smart ideas in addition worked to be a good way to be sure that the rest have the identical zeal like mine to know the truth good deal more in regard to this problem. I am sure there are thousands of more pleasant periods up front for individuals who look into your website.

  13. Nice post. I was checking constantly this blog and I am impressed! Extremely helpful information specially the last part 🙂 I care for such information much. I was looking for this particular information for a long time. Thank you and good luck.

  14. Thanks so much for providing individuals with an exceptionally breathtaking opportunity to check tips from this blog. It’s always very awesome plus packed with a great time for me personally and my office peers to visit the blog a minimum of three times a week to study the latest guides you have got. Of course, I’m usually satisfied with all the sensational hints served by you. Certain 4 ideas in this posting are in fact the most efficient we have all ever had.

  15. Hi there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it’s truly informative. I am going to watch out for brussels. I will appreciate if you continue this in future. A lot of people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  16. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know a lot about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you could do with a few pics to drive the message home a bit, but instead of that, this is fantastic blog. An excellent read. I will definitely be back.

  17. I keep listening to the reports lecture about receiving boundless online grant applications so I have been looking around for the finest site to get one. Could you advise me please, where could i get some?

  18. Its like you read my mind! You seem to know a lot about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you can do with some pics to drive the message home a bit, but other than that, this is great blog. An excellent read. I’ll definitely be back.

  19. I simply wanted to construct a quick note to say thanks to you for some of the great tactics you are posting at this website. My considerable internet lookup has at the end of the day been rewarded with really good information to share with my good friends. I would point out that many of us readers actually are very lucky to be in a wonderful site with many outstanding individuals with insightful guidelines. I feel very much blessed to have seen the webpage and look forward to many more exciting moments reading here. Thanks once again for everything.

  20. I have been browsing online more than three hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It’s pretty worth enough for me. Personally, if all website owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the net will be much more useful than ever before.

  21. Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your site and in accession capital to assert that I get in fact enjoyed account your blog posts. Any way I will be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently quickly.

  22. We are a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community. Your site offered us with valuable information to work on. You’ve done a formidable job and our whole community will be grateful to you.

  23. I enjoy you because of all of your efforts on this web page. My mum enjoys working on investigations and it’s easy to see why. We all learn all about the powerful way you create functional guidelines by means of this blog and as well welcome response from other individuals on the subject and my simple princess is actually being taught a lot. Have fun with the remaining portion of the year. You are carrying out a first class job.

  24. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a really well written article. I will be sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful information. Thanks for the post. I’ll certainly comeback.

  25. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again soon!

  26. Hello, i think that i saw you visited my web site so i came to “return the favor”.I am trying to find things to improve my site!I suppose its ok to use a few of your ideas!!

  27. I’ve been browsing online more than three hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It’s pretty worth enough for me. In my view, if all webmasters and bloggers made good content as you did, the internet will be a lot more useful than ever before.

  28. Undeniably believe that which you stated. Your favorite reason appeared to be on the net the easiest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I certainly get irked while people consider worries that they plainly do not know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and defined out the whole thing without having side effect , people can take a signal. Will probably be back to get more. Thanks

  29. Great post. I was checking constantly this blog and I am impressed! Extremely useful info specifically the last part 🙂 I care for such info much. I was seeking this particular information for a very long time. Thank you and best of luck.

  30. Hello there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it’s really informative. I am going to watch out for brussels. I’ll appreciate if you continue this in future. Numerous people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  31. Hi, i think that i saw you visited my web site thus i came to “return the favor”.I’m attempting to find things to enhance my site!I suppose its ok to use a few of your ideas!!

  32. I precisely had to appreciate you once again. I do not know the things I could possibly have created in the absence of these solutions documented by you directly on this area of interest. It had become an absolute alarming condition for me, nevertheless spending time with this skilled style you processed the issue took me to weep over gladness. Now i’m happy for the advice and then hope that you realize what a powerful job that you are carrying out educating some other people through a blog. I’m certain you’ve never come across any of us.

  33. You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this topic to be really something which I think I would never understand. It seems too complicated and extremely broad for me. I’m looking forward for your next post, I will try to get the hang of it!

  34. You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this matter to be really something that I think I would never understand. It seems too complex and very broad for me. I am looking forward for your next post, I’ll try to get the hang of it!

  35. I think this is one of the most important information for me. And i’m glad reading your article. But should remark on few general things, The website style is perfect, the articles is really excellent : D. Good job, cheers

  36. I was suggested this website by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my problem. You’re wonderful! Thanks!

  37. You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this matter to be actually something that I think I would never understand. It seems too complex and extremely broad for me. I’m looking forward for your next post, I will try to get the hang of it!

  38. I wish to express my appreciation to you for rescuing me from this problem. After surfing through the search engines and coming across notions that were not productive, I believed my entire life was well over. Living devoid of the solutions to the difficulties you’ve solved all through your guide is a critical case, and those that could have adversely damaged my career if I had not discovered the website. Your own know-how and kindness in touching all the things was useful. I am not sure what I would’ve done if I had not come across such a point like this. I’m able to at this point look ahead to my future. Thanks very much for the skilled and results-oriented guide. I will not be reluctant to propose your web blog to anyone who needs assistance on this topic.

  39. Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a really well written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful information. Thanks for the post. I’ll certainly return.

  40. Magnificent beat ! I would like to apprentice while you amend your website, how could i subscribe for a blog site? The account helped me a acceptable deal. I had been tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided bright clear idea

  41. Wonderful goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you are just extremely excellent. I actually like what you have acquired here, certainly like what you are stating and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still take care of to keep it sensible. I can’t wait to read much more from you. This is actually a great web site.

  42. Nice post. I was checking constantly this blog and I’m impressed! Very useful information specifically the last part 🙂 I care for such info a lot. I was looking for this certain info for a long time. Thank you and best of luck.

  43. I simply wished to appreciate you once more. I do not know what I would have taken care of in the absence of those solutions contributed by you directly on that field. It absolutely was the difficult difficulty for me, nevertheless observing this expert mode you solved that made me to cry with contentment. I’m happy for the advice and then believe you comprehend what a great job your are getting into teaching the others thru a web site. Most probably you haven’t got to know all of us.

  44. Just desire to say your article is as surprising. The clarity in your post is just spectacular and i could assume you are an expert on this subject. Fine with your permission allow me to grab your RSS feed to keep up to date with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please carry on the rewarding work.

  45. Very efficiently written information. It will be supportive to anyone who employess it, including me. Keep doing what you are doing – i will definitely read more posts.

  46. Simply desire to say your article is as astounding. The clarity in your post is just cool and i can assume you’re an expert on this subject. Fine with your permission allow me to grab your feed to keep updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please continue the rewarding work.

Leave a Reply

